Read What Guest Say About BillowHouse

Guest at BillowHouse become like family and often  return year after year. Read some of their reviews.

Our first time back after 4 years.. It’s still our home away from home!! Thank  you Judi & Mary for such a lovely place to come!! The BillowHouse will always have a special place in our hearts Kelly & Larry

Dan & Linda: This is our 19th year in a row at the BillowHouse. We’ll be staying here every year till the place closes! We love it here! Mary & Judi are family to us now! Thank you for all you do to make each stay here special!

Jackie & Josh: This was our second year here and our stay was lovely as the last. We arrived Saturday desperately  in need of peace and that’s exactly what we found! Thank you See you next year!

Ned & Becky First time at BillowHouse. The perfect setting for our family gathering ” home base” Your hospitality is over the top. All the extra touches made our stay very special

What an ENJOYABLE few days! Morning on the beach, the gathering room, making new acquaintances. Mary and Judi you’re the best! Thank you Thank You Thank you!!! We’ll be back next year!

Karen & Rebecca Enjoyed our first visit. How wonderful to go to sleep at night with the sounds of the waves as a lullaby. Being right on the beach priceless. Thank you for the extra touches.

Janet & Gary: Fantastic location and a very warm welcome – we only wish we could have stayed longer. Wake up to a Fantastic sun rise, would love to visit again? From Bockham U.K.

Nancy & Charles: Looking for a place to stay for one night, we ” happened ” on the BillowHouse. WE felt very at home & stayed for 2 nights. Would have loved to stay longer but need to return home as our vacation was ending. Wonderful place and location. We enjoyed it VERY MUCH. (Especially the kite flying)

Linda & Richard

What a wonderfulk find!

Wonderful views.

Wonderful hosts

Now the we’ve found you, we’re certain to come back.

Harlon & Marianne 2/17/2017 To the ladies of the BillowHouse, Thank you in helping us celebrate our number 10 Wedding Anniversary.  So sorry our stay was so short. We’d love to come again. Only one question remains – When? The chocolate covered strawberries were a ten!

Florence & Eleanor: We thank you for your warm hospitality, info, directions to everywhere, recommendations for restaurants, all the cookies & messages. We will miss our ocean view of paradise and hope to return her to see y’all again

Loretta & Lucy were first time guest to BillowHouse. Although their stay was just for one night here is a note they left : “Thank you very much – It is indeed a little piece of heaven! 11/2016

Bruce & Claudettte, Salam NH  Your place is a jewel. We wanted a place with great views and close to the beach. We got so much more, it was like coming to visit family. We were welcomed with such warmth and excitement. After finding your wonder B&B we have decided that we need to make this a yearly getaway. Thank you for making our time so memorable.

This is my third trip to the BillowHouse. I call it my little piece of heaven. The hot tub was great and I’m going to hate going home.

Diane & Paul from RI. I grew up coming to Ocean Park each summer for a week with my father & Step mother. I am happy to see that after 50 years it hasn’t lost it’s charm. We were staying in Ogunquit as we do each Sept. when we decided to extend our vacation. Phil told me to look for something in Ocean Park. I knew there was only one place because I had looked before. What I didn’t know was just how perfect this place would be. Meeting Mary & Judi was like visiting family. They welcomed us with smiles & were so helpful. It is our first full day here & we have already booked for 2 trips next year. I can’t imagine a more beautiful spot in Ocean Park or more beautiful people to stay with September 2016

It was super cool! 9 year old Ann

This is our 23 year comi9ng to BillowHouse. How do you make a motel-Inn so special? You have Mary & Judi to warm your hearts and take special care of you each time. Bill & Mary B. Vermont

The Saco Bay Balcony: “An oasis of calm in the chaos of life” Thank you Mary and Judi for another heavenly week. Raymond & Sandy. VT

What an AMAZING place to celebrate my husbands 55th B-day. This is a home very much loved and we were made to feel special. Thank you Judi All the personal touches did not go unnoticed. Mary what a beautiful person you are! Your smile lights up the room. We loved the view from the bedroom and spent most of the weekend watching the healing waves. Peter and Paula CT.

Thank you for the wonderful hospitality you provided for us here at BillowHouse. It was super comfortable and you gave us everything we needed. The cookies were also fantastic. Thank you  Mary & Judi, and the entire staff for being so warm and friendly. Carl, Eve, Kristin and Isabella  Forest Hills, NY August 2016

BillowHouse is a beautiful place to stay with a view of the ocean and the sound of the waves at night. Amazing hospitality. Where else do you get freshly baked cookies everyday! 1st time here as “empty nesters”, and 1st time staying here!! We will be back. Brampton, ON. August 2016

It felt like living at our families home!!! We’ve created a whole bag of memories we will keep forever. Thanks to everyone for such a great welcome and all the little attentions that have made our stay here … PERFECT! Isabella with Lac, Delphine & Ehenne. August 2016

Dear Mary and Judi

Thank you so much for your warm hospitality. We have enjoyed a wonderful week of treasured family time here in Ocean Park. From sunset to sunrise, days at the beach, nights of star gazing on the roof top! What a blessing it has been to be here with you.  Ocean Park Suite August 2016

Thank you so much for your welcoming ways and gracious hospitality. My daughter and I were looking for a safe harbor in the mists of life’s turmoil, and we found peace here. This feels like “grannie’s guest room.” Jen said when she opened the door to her cozy room. That is a high praise. Since arriving to Mary’s bright smile my heart has been filled with gratitude. We could not have landed is a better place at a better time. A & J March 1-3 2016

March 4-6 I’ve come to Ocean Park almost my entire life. I needed a place to get a way and study for an exam. Afterwards I did not want to leave. You folks provide a fantastic place to stay and feel at home. Bill

March 12-13 2016

It’s great to be back here even though we were all bundled up at the beach today. Our new England spirit is infectious as we joined others who just cannot wait for our beloved summer. thank you so much for great hospitality. I always love coming here. See you next time, hopefully in shorts & sandals! Kathy & Tom Gardner, MA

 

 

Lovely, cozy spot with attention paid to every detail, wonderful gracious hostesses in Mary and Judi – A big thank you for making our rejuvenating vacation a success.

October 2015

This is a place to let go of stress and do things without quilt: relax, do a puzzle and just sit and enjoy the view. Billie/ 2015

Here to attend a Old Orchard Beach council meeting with mu brother. The BillowHouse is a GEM! Love everything you so beautifully do ti make this a home away from home. D. Jackson

September 2015 My second time here, but not my last. Plan on coming next year. The BillowHouse will always have a special place in heart as my little place of Heaven. Brought my friend Judy this year. We’ll be back with more friends. Thanks for everything! Donna- NH.

Thank you for a great stay! It was like being among cousins and aunts when I am here. Sop comfortable! The beach, sun and sand just enough to get me through another winter. Janice Fletcher, VT.

September 21, 2015 Bob and I had a wonderful stay here at the BillowHouse. We loved the view and the weather was perfect. Mary your cooking and baking made us feel like we were at home. The Fall decorations were so festive!Thank you for a great time. Michelle & Bob N.Y.

 

July 4-18, 2015 This was our 18TH year straight staying at the BillowHouse but the first time we were able to stay for two weeks in a row! Always a wonderful relaxing stay. Perfect weather too! Who could ask for more! Except maybe never having to leave! The Greens Dalton,. MA

 

August 30, 2015 We were delighted to be able to spend our 25th wedding annivesary at the BillowHouse. We felt very much at home and very much apprciated the gorgerus view and the homey atomshere. Thanks for the kind hospitality, yummy cookies and treats. Thanks so much for all the special attention Mary and Judi! Hudson, QC Canada

 

 

 

 

January 21, 2015

We stayed at BillowHouse in the Family Suite in June 2014.  It was Tom and I and our 11 year old grandson and a friend of his.  Family suite has a queen sized bed and a sliding door to the deck…with an ocean view and the deck also has a hot tub for the exclusive use of family suite guests.  There are also a pair of daybeds in the other room which gave both the boys and us some space to get away from each other.  There is a full bathroom between the two rooms.  There is a full kitchen so we were able to make lunches.  We didn’t need to manage breakfast because Family Suite is part of the B&B part of BillowHouse and thus breakfast is available for us every day at no cost.  Mary made chocolate chip pancakes especially for our boys.  There was also a freshly baked quiche, several varieties of muffins Mary had made, fruit salad, cereal, toast and bagels…as well as OJ and fresh coffee.  Although the boys brought their giant breakfast back to the room to eat, the Gathering Space where breakfast is laid out has an enormous window that looks right out on the beach and ocean!!!   In addition to some serious hot tub time, there is a stash of boogie boards and skimmer boards as well as pails and shovels so lots of stuff to keep the boys beach happy.  And for me, there is an outside shower so they can rinse off before coming back upstairs.  Our last night was topped by a s’more party using BillowHouse ‘s firepit and then a final walk on the beach with sparklers.  A perfect weekend! Kathy & Tom

January 9, 2015

The past week has been amazing. It was wonderful being able to spend our Anniversary here for a second time. Not even the snow or the ice cold stop us from enjoying our vacation. Thank you so much for your hospitality.

With Love Adam & Alexis

January 1, 2015

Peaceful, Quiet & Restful here at BillowHouse The perfect antidote to holiday stress. S & J

Novembers 1, 2014,

Thank you so much for providing us with accommodations that truly feel like home. Your many small touches around the Saco Bay Suite are so much of what each of us have in our own home.  This was our first visit here and we will definitely  return. BillowHouse, and the hospitality that Judi showed us are a gift.  We came to honor our mom’s memory, Nov. 1st was her birthday and we spread her ashes off this coast 28 years ago. Thank you for a wonderful space in which we could spend time together G, C, & K

November 15-16 2014

Now we know what Kate and Lauren have been talking about for years! The BillowHouse is truly a “home away from home” where you feel at peace and relaxed! The sun filling Saco Bay Suite is exquisite and all of the little details are so appreciated.  To be able to look at, smell, hear and feel the ocean so close is as close to heaven as it gets! Thank you Mary and Judi for your generous hospitality. L & D

December 4-7, 2014

Meeting Mary & Judi was a real pleasure! To stay at the BillowHouse after following it on face book for almost a year  it was everything we expected it would be and more.  Loved our Light House room with the view All the little extra personal touches was very special. The whole experience was wonderful as we celebrated our 50th wedding Anniversary. As Frank says it’s ” A little piece of heaven”.

 

Thank you for providing a space to dream & allow dreams for us to come alive.  This place brings inspiration, hope, relaxation,healing and so much more.

With loving gratitude Evy M.

It’s such a pleasure to be back to my home away from home with Judi dearest. Your faithful “returner” since fall of 2014 … 10 years.

It’s always like coming home to a second home – hadn’t been here for 4 years and it felt like no time had passed. -this is a sweet spot in the universe ,

No doubt about it!

Needed a few days of peace after the loss of a loved one. This was a very nice place to rest and reflect.Our first stay at BillowHouse was perfect. Judi made us feel so welcome and she made our 24th anniversary even more special. We’ve been coming to OP for 25 years and now we won’t stay anywhere else.

Lisa & Mike.

Feeling very blessed to have a great friend who brought me to this amazing place for my birthday! This is the 1st trip to BillowHouse … and cannot wait to return. Thank You!

As always we had a wonderful stay. Judi & Mary always with their warm welcome. Loved our dinner together and look forward to this being a bi-annual event. We are so lucky to have this “home” away from home. Have a great winter and we will see you in June. We will be back again and again! Hans and Cynthia (Canada)

The paradise exist! … It’s located here at BillowHouse!  From the bottom of my heart Thank you Mary and Judi!! We will be here in your paradise next fall and for a long TIME… You are my angles from many years now  Francine (from Montreal)

I love BillowHouse! It’s always a great time! I really am sad to go. I love the BillowHouse. I can’t’t wait to come back! I found lots of shells with  Isabella and Amellya. Alexandra (10 years old

What an amazing stay at the BillowHouse. We are leaving with a lighter step, freshener air in our breath, and sunshine in our souls. Counting the days until we return ~ Thank you for making BillowHouse such an amazing place to be Cindy, Adriana and mom.

 

Our special vacation retreat! This place holds a special place in Deborah’s & my heart. Thank you Mary & Judi for making us feel like family. Year afyer year our bond gets stronger and we are looking forward to year 7 Special place with special dreams. Frank (Toronto Canada)

October 1, 2014
Once again, we enjoyed our stay and we thank you for making  it so special – the Billow House always feels like we’re coming “home”
to family.

 

August 2014

Each morning my walk on the beach has been my time of gratitude, thanking God for the many blessing in my life. Today I am grateful for both of you and the BillowHouse. You have made BillowHouse not a business but a sanctuary and home for the many guest that arrive at your door step.  The BillowHouse is a place roe rest, reflection, fellowship and fun. Ocean Park has been my home all my life and I was blessed that we had a home here. Ocean Park  will always be home to me but it will also be home for Carrie.  She will always think of BillowHouse as home in Ocean Park because of both of you and I am glad. She will always have this sanctuary. We are grateful for all of your caring actions and for your friendship. Barbara and Family

 

July 24, 2014

Making Memories

Thank you for providing such a special place for our family to make memories. It’s obvious you know that this is the only vacation people get all year, and so you aim to make it as perfect as can be. We are grateful.

July 26, 2014 here we are the end of another wonderful vacation at the BillowHouse in Ocean Park, Maine.  We have had a very relaxing week away from the “hustle & bustle” of everyday life, thanks to the warm comfortable atmosphere of the BillowHouse.  The staff of the BillowHouse is the most accommodating for whatever you need for your comfort and enjoyment. They are always willing to go”that extra mile” to meet your needs in an unbelievable way. You will feel at home but with no everyday commandments and pressures!

Mary and Judi are always so welcoming – with open arms. Each summer there are young housekeepers from around the world who are always so friendly and helpful. I love my room overlooking the ocean and sand dunes – and the balcony right outside my room. If I don’t feel like going to the beach I can sit on my balcony and read – a real treat. I enjoy walking to the pier at Old Orchard beach along the beach – about 1 1/2 miles. The challenge is to do it at low tide! I’ve made many friends over the years coming here and always feel at home in Ocean Park. It’s a step back in time – including an old time soda fountain right in the center of town. Mary always has wonderful goodies for our breakfast each morning. It is close to the highway where you can head either north or south to visit other places nearby. I look forward to a fall trip here.  July 5, 2013

 

Now and then you find a place,

With Atlantic breezes to Billow across your face.

Morning coffee on the deck in the sun,

Makes you and the world one.

But in the morning be quiet as a mouse,

in this wonderful place called BillowHouse.

Thank you Mary and Judi for a wonderful, relaxing couple of days. You made Maine,

every bit as lovely as we imagined.

Steve & Jayne

Newport , S. Wales UK

We had a wonderful visit, enjoyed walking, cross country skiing and snow shoeing on the beach. Watching the sun rise was spiritual.

The Schow’s( December 2012)

“I absolutely LOVE THE BILLOWHOUSE.  It has so many fabulous views! The hot tub is amazing! I love when there is snow! Making snow angels in Ocean Park is the Best.

I can’t wait to come here in the summer”

Mary Katherine December 2012

“What a beautiful room- and a breathtaking view to enjoy.  We were so impressed with the greeting Happy Anniversary and rose petals on the bed waiting for us!! 1st time ever in 56 years! Thanks so much for providing a room that has everything and is so neat & clean and for your wonderful smiles, greetings. Mary & Judi it’s been a great stay!”

Prisicila & Dick  Pembroke, MA000000000000000000000000

 

 

 

 

“It’s like being in a storybook”

When I stayed at the BillowHouse it felt like I was inside a magnificent storybook. My room with it’s views of the majestic Atlantic Ocean was so cozy. I sat on my Queen Anne style bed and sipped warm lavendar tea as I gazed out of the windows. Later I spent time sitting on the balcony and breathing the crisp salt air as the seagulls cried out for food.
In the evening I selected a DVD to watch from the huge selection of films available to guests as I munched on some delicious homemade cookies made by the staff.
The entire house felt so glorious and quaint and owner Mary made me feel very at home with her kind and warm hospitality. The generous breakfast was just one of the many things that makes BillowHouse feel like a home away from home.
When I wasn’t inside this lovely bed & breakfast I spent time running on the beach and swimming in the ocean.
Never in my life did I stay at such a relaxing place as the BillowHouse.So impressed was I with this place that I now have a short story written based on the storybook magic this place brought me.
I hope to own my own bed & breakfst around here someday although BillowHouse is a one of a kind place that can’t be duplicated.
BillowHouse is Maine’s treasure!

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

February 24, 2012

A Ten year old little girl was her on school vacation for three days and she left this note for the innkeepers at the end of here stay.  ” I think this hotel is the best.  It feels like home. I wish I could live here forever and ever!!  Thank You!

When Mary (the owner of the BillowHouse) asked a guest how she was doing  she replied by saying this “Fabulous look where I am.”

 

“Home away from home”

Reviewed November 3, 2011 I have been going every fall to the Billowhouse for the past 7 years now. Mary and Judy welcome us like family and we feel just like visiting our mom and relatives. They are so lovable! I usually stay in the Lighthouse and discovered last weekend the Oceanview room. Both face the ocean and give fantastic views of the sunrise! The gathering room, also facing the ocean, is great and the food is delicious, all home made: muffins, breads, quiches, quesadillas, you name it! Judy and Mary are eager to make our stay the most enjoyable and I cannot imagine a year without a yearly visit to their 1881 inn which retains all the historical flavour, but with the modern comfort and amenities 🙂

Last weekend, we had the surprise of witnessing our first snowstorm on the beach. Quite impressive and we were thrilled!

Room Tip: ALL rooms have beach views. Lighthouse has a king size bed or twin beds and Oceanview a queen size bed.

See more room tips

Reviewed December 16, 2011 Very special place right on the ocean in a little spot time forgot. Ocean Park is delightful and peaceful yet only seconds from OOB and minutes from Portland and Kennebunk Port. The BillowHouse built in 1881 is just wonderful in every way, clean, many little touches every where you look that big places just do not do. There are to many things to list and I would not want to spoil the fun of discovering them all.The web site is good it under sells. But the view is awesome, ocean /beach/ distant lighthouse’s, sun up to moon up it is very special to see either coming out of the water. And two of the nicest people running it you will ever meet. Try it you will love it !

Room Tip: any and all

See more room tips

Stayed December 2011, traveled as a couple

 

“Spectacular view and service”

Reviewed October 24, 2011 We arrived at Billowhouse at 10:30 p.m. mid-Sept. with Judi waiting in the office to welcome us. We stayed in a spacious room with kitchenette with a view of the ocean. Spectacular! Judi, Mary and Helen all helped us discover restaurants, beach spots, lighthouses in the area that may not be on a “tourist” destination map. We walked the beach daily, sat in the common room for breakfast with the front window view of the ocean. Even saw a seal flopping in the ocean. It definitely felt like home! It’s a very friendly atmosphere in a very calm area of the town with the ability to walk for miles either on the beach or down the streets. Can’t wait to go back!

“We planned a late fall 3 day weekend to explore the Maine coast from Kittery to Portland, to eat in Portland and Street & Company and to go to Camden when the tourists were not there. We found the perfect central point for our trip.”

 

“My friends and I have been going to the Billow House for a week every year for more than 15 years. It is an enchanting place where I feel as welcome as one of the family. Mary, Helen and Judi think of everything to make your stay as comfortable and enjoyable as possible, no matter your age or interests. There are beach chairs, umbrellas, towels and lotion, boogie boards and games for the kids, and a wonderful patio/picnic area to share a barbecue with friends and family. Then of course there are the fresh-baked cookies in your room each day! I stay in an efficiency, and it’s great having a kitchen to fix a meal rather than spend a lot eating out all the time. It’s a place to renew body, mind and spirit. Can’t wait until this year’s visit!”

 

“If you are fortunate enough to be staying in Ocean Park, you must stay at The Billowhouse! We have been going to Ocean Park for 20 years and have never been as comfortable or happy as we are here. Mary, Helen, and Judi are the top notch staff, and your extended family while here. You have a choice of a variety of accommodations, from motel style apartments with kitchens, to bedrooms in the B&B, and two fabulous multi-room apartments in the guest house with jacuzzi tub or outdoor whirlpool! Private bath with showers in all rooms, and a great breakfast in the Gathering Room make this the place to be in Ocean Park!”

 

“My husband and I had decided to go to Maine for our fall honeymoon, and after checking out the Billowhouse website and reviews here, we decided to give it a try. We were MORE than satisfied. We stayed in the Cape Elizabeth Suite, which was absolutely perfect, with the hot tub on the deck! The fluffy bathrobes were so cozy, we decided to make that our Christmas gift to each other this year. The lazy mornings were spent talking with other guests in the little breakfast nook while enjoying the wonderful fare. Most of all, Mary, Helen and Judi really do everything right. We are definitely looking forward to another visit. We could not have enjoyed this place any better.”

 

“This is that place you always hope you will find….perfectly located, spotlessly clean, charming, ON THE OCEAN and well-priced. Mary, Helen and Judi are the wonderful women who make it work…and they work very hard to make it look simple and effortless. The rooms have everything you could imagine needing, breakfast is amazing, the beach is perfect, quiet and endless. All the great restaurants of Portland are about 25 minutes away, Freeport is about 40 minutes, Camden is about 2 hours, Ogunquit is about 30 minutes south. The location is perfect in every way.”

 

“The motel rooms are spacious with 2 double beds, a two burner cook top, a full size new fridge, a/c, a bath/shower and decks on both sides, The b&b rooms are lovely. The two facing the ocean are small, but one has a king and the other a queen bed plus each has an en-suite bath and the porch overlooking the ocean. Family suite is a livingroom/kichen combo, an en-suite bathroom, a separate bedroom and sliders to the deck with exclusive use of the hot tub with full ocean views. Saco Bay, on the top floor is gorgeous, a spacious comfortable bedroom,ensuite bathroom, large living room/ kitchen combo, with a private deck facing the ocean through the living room sliders.”